How to watch Roger Federer’s last ever match for freeon September 23, 2022 at 08:52 Tech Advisor

0

After a glittering 24-year career, Roger Federer has officially announced he will be retiring from tennis.

His status as one of the sport’s all-time greats is unquestionable, with only Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal having ever won more than the Swiss’s 20 Grand Slam titles. Fittingly, Federer’s final match will be doubles partnering Nadal at the Laver Cup, a tournament he helped create.  

It’ll be broadcast live around the world, and there’s a way to watch the match for free if you have a US account. Here’s everything you need to know. 

When is Federer’s final match?

Federer and Nadal will face off against Americans Jack Sock and Frances Tiafoe today, 23 September 2022. It’ll be the second match of the night session, which gets underway at 7pm UK time – that’s 11am PT, 2pm ET, 8pm CET and 11.30pm IST.  

However, when the match actually starts will depend on how long Andy Murray vs Alex de Minaur takes to complete. 

How to watch Federer’s last match for free in the US

In the US, the match will be shown live on the Tennis Channel. It might look like you need a Tennis Channel Plus subscription, which costs $109.99 per year and doesn’t offer a free trial.

However, there is another way. You can also watch the match via fuboTV, which does offer a free trial for new customers. Just head to the welcome page and click ‘Start Free Trial’. This lasts seven days, meaning you can watch every Laver Cup match and plenty more content until next Friday.

You’ll just need payment details and a US ZIP code to start watching, with the match available via any of its plans. None are cheap, so make sure you cancel before the week is up! Wait until after the match is over, though – cancelling means you lose access immediately.

The match will be available via any of its plans, but make sure you cancel before the week is up to avoid being charged a hefty fee! You’ll just need payment details and a US ZIP code to start watching.

As you can see from the fuboTV website, the service is available on a variety of different devices.

How to watch Federer’s last match for free outside the US

A full list of broadcasters showing the match is available on the Laver Cup website. In the UK, that’s Eurosport, which usually costs £6.99 per month or £59.99 per year via Discovery+. Alternatively, you pay for it via Amazon Prime Video (if you’re already subscribed), or add it to an existing Sky, BT or Virgin Media TV package.

However, there is another method for anyone based outside the US. You can still take advantage of the fuboTV free trial using a VPN, which allows you to appear as if you’re in the US and retain access to the services, and it’s completely legal. 

Signing up requires payment information (any card will work) and a US ZIP code, but you can enter anything that’s valid here. Again, just make sure you cancel before the 7 days are up.

NordVPN is one of our top recommendations, but you can check out our best VPN chart, which shows you some of the best services for accessing US and UK content from abroad. 

If you’re only planning on using the VPN for this match, you might also want to consider a free VPN. Nearly all have US and UK servers, but there may be strict data limits. 

Streaming Media

Leave a Comment

Generated by Feedzy