Netflix password sharing rules: Everything you need to knowon May 24, 2023 at 09:16 Tech Advisor

0

Netflix has confirmed that its password sharing curb is officially rolling out US and UK subscribers.

Here is everything we know so far, including the lowdown on what is happening in the US and UK. We also have a guide for the rebrand from HBO Max to Max.

When will Netflix roll out password sharing rules in the US and UK?  

Netflix has confirmed in press releases for both the US and UK that emails will be sent out from 23 May 2023 to any accounts that are sharing a password outside of a primary household.

The email reads as follows:

Starting today, we will be sending this email to members who are sharing Netflix outside their household in the United States/United Kingdom.

A Netflix account is for use by one household. Everyone living in that household can use Netflix wherever they are – at home, on the go, on holiday – and take advantage of new features like Transfer Profile and Manage Access and Devices.

We recognise that our members have many entertainment choices. It’s why we continue to invest heavily in a wide variety of new films and TV programmes – so whatever your taste, mood or language and whoever you’re watching with, there’s always something satisfying to watch on Netflix.

Netflix Press Office

The email then explains the options that users have now that the password sharing ban is being enforced.

We don’t know yet when Netflix will begin to officially block members outside of a household from signing in following the email, but it will likely be soon.

What do Netflix’s new password-sharing measures entail? 

Netflix states that a single membership is meant to be used for people who live together in one household. Netflix calls the main household for the account a ‘primary location’.  

If a user is found to be streaming outside of a primary location – which is detected through a combination of IP addresses, device IDs and account activity – then Netflix will prompt them either to sign up for a brand-new account or ask the account holder to add them as an ‘extra member’.  

This means that if you use a Netflix account that belongs to a family member or friend to watch the likes of Stranger Things and The Witcher, you will face these rules.

Hannah Cowton / Foundry

Netflix claims that you should still be able to stream content whilst you’re travelling by using a temporary password.

If you have a second home, or a place you travel to frequently, then Netflix has also provided a solution from being banned. Here is what you need to do:

Connect to the internet in your primary locationOpen the Netflix app on your mobile device(s) once a monthRepeat the steps when you arrive at your second location

You can read more in the page about streaming from a second home.

How much do Netflix Extra Members cost, and what limitations are there? 

Extra members cost £4.99 per month in the UK, and $7.99 per month in the US.

Extra members have access to the Netflix library, but can only have one profile on one device, with no simultaneous streams available. They can still download films and episodes, but cannot set up a Kids profile. They must also reside in the same country as the account holder.

Only members on Standard or Premium plans can add extra members, so people on the Basic or Basic with Ads plans will have to upgrade if they want other accounts.

Alternatively, you can transfer a profile to a brand new account. Whilst users will have to pay for their own subscription, they will still retain their watch history and recommendations.

You can find out how to cancel Netflix here, and check out the various plans if you’re considering downgrading. In addition, Netflix Basic with Ads is now available on Apple TV.

Streaming Media

Leave a Comment